Merry Happy Thanksmus.

4

November 26, 2012 by j1scotty

So what if we are late with the things we are thankful for. You don’t only have to be thankful on Thanksgiving. And now…Laurens top 10.

Top 10 Things I am Thankful for During the Holidays

  • Family and friends. They make life happy and full.
  • Christmas music. I am a true believer in November 1 being the start of playing the wonderful sounds of Christmas music. Yeah, that’s right. I’m that annoying person. Deal with it, because I play it loud and proud.
  • Eggnog. Nothing more needs to be said. 
  • Lots and lots of dresses. You don’t have to ever do that awkward belt-loosening moment after a holiday meal. Plenty of room for expanding without a minimal amount of noticing that expansion from others. Thank you.
  • What would the holidays be without football? So glad the season runs through the holidays and I have beer and wings as part of the holiday tradition. 
  • Those awkward family moments that only happen during the holidays when everyone gets together. You dread them and look forward to them at the same time. 
  • What? The gyms are closed on Thanksgiving and Christmas day…. I can’t feel bad for not going to the gym. They’re not open. Oh well, more eating time for me. 
  • All gyms open the day after Thanksgiving and Christmas day. Who knew you could gain five pounds and feel like a giant whale after one day of “moderate” eating. 
  • Did I mention Eggnog? 
  • Spanx. Thank you God for these. I am most thankful for this wonderful creation, especially the day after Thanksgiving.

There are so many things to be thankful for..like the obvious. Family, food, shelter. Hello. If you’re not thankful for these things there’s a problem. With the exception of some family, of course. I put a few of my things I’m thankful for in pictures. Who wants to read all the time. Pictures are much more interesting….says my friend who is a blog expert. I took her advice. 

ImageImageImage

Yes. That is Tim Tebow in the upper right hand corner. He looks good with a hat or without. Have you played that game? Some dudes look better with a hat. So now my friend and I talk in code….hmmm..yes..he would look better…with a hat.

This post doesn’t have a lot to do with working out or food..although I did eat all paleo on Thanksgiving. Just to prove it could be done. Not only that, it was the shiz. Even my parents liked it. I’m slowly but surely changing them over. Although everything I do in regards to working out and eating is “extreme” according to my mother. Her name is Arlene. She used to be a nun. Like legit nun. In the convent. Who’s the extreme one here? 

The one thing I couldn’t put in a picture is change. I’m thankful for it. The last couple years have brought a lot of change. Not only in my eating and training, just in general. It’s funny how we sometimes long for change, then it comes and we are terrified of it.

But yet, it’s the only sure thing in life.  Change comes in all different forms..new people, saying goodbye, unexpected pregnancy, moving, loss. The list goes on. Life is messy. It’s not fair..everything does not balance out in the end. I’m learning to erase all expectations and just live. Sometimes I’ve felt like my life is over..like everyone else at some point. You know what’s good about life being over? You’re free. What you do with it is up to you. You can b&^#$ and complain about how you want to change or do something different …like look different or eat different. But it will never happen if you don’t break out of the cycle. Breaking out of a cycle is usually always painful. It also comes with scrutiny from others. Because everyone becomes an expert on your life.

We need change , good or bad, to grow and learn. I’m thankful to change this year. It’s opened my eyes, flushed out my soul. I’ve seen new places. I’ve met amazing ,different people. Those different people are truly teaching me that our unlikeness is actually , in fact, ok. 

I used to be afraid of everything. It’s true. So afraid that I carried pepto and gas x in my car. No joke. I would get so nervous I would pop pepto. My drug of choice. I was afraid of everything, from talking to someone to my workouts. Change in my life has forced me so far out of my comfort zone that I’ve had no choice, but TO change. I’ve evolved, I’m evolving. We all are. No pain, no gain. How true. In the physical , spiritual, and emotional.

Crossfit is also apart of that change. Yes, I’m one of those people. Crossfit has gotten me through the worst of days. It’s the only place I’m in the moment. I think of nothing else but the horror to come. It’s painful and intimidating. I love it and hate it. I want to quit and be faster at the same time. It’s the one place I channel all my energy and frustration and my mind is free. I talk myself through the WOD, and come out saying..if I can do THAT..I can do anything. It still scares me, walking into the box, but I’m getting stronger and so is my spirit at the same time.

So, I’m grateful this year. For who I am in this moment today. I couldn’t say that last year. I am the captain of my soul. Change is coming. What will you do with it?

4 thoughts on “Merry Happy Thanksmus.

  1. DrNuGGs says:

    Long heels red bottoms

  2. DrNuGGs says:

    Change is here! I’m soaking it up like a sponge… I love crossfit! If it wasn’t for the box I would not of meant you two amazing ladies… Your right change sucks, especially when it involves family… You wish things could stay the same but, finally you realize things had already changed… Then, you gotta play catch up;-) love you ladies, cya later ❤

  3. “It still scares me, walking into the box,..” My favorite part of this post…

Leave a Reply

