Happy Holidays! Now Stop Eating and Get Back in the Gym!

1

December 27, 2012 by j1scotty

Sorry for the ten day hiatus! It was the holidays, and well, we were busy eating. And as much as I wish I could say that we went full Paleo for this Christmas, that would be a complete lie. And I’m a terrible liar. And I would probably feel bad and then get anxiety and write a follow up post telling you how I lied. The scenario playing out in my head would not be good. So, to keep things honest: I ate like utter crap. I feel like utter crap. And I’m pretty sure, as of right now, I look like utter crap.

I think everyone should let their inner fat kid out every now and then...Mine just happens to appear a little more often than others.

I think everyone should let their inner fat kid out every now and then…Mine just happens to appear a little more often than others.

So what do I? Get moving and get back in the gym! Train hard keep motivated by knowing that time doesn’t wait for anyone. I have competitions coming up, and I sure as hell do not want to be in my spandex in front of hundreds of people in a month looking the way I do now. So, let’s get moving people!

Well, another Christmas has passed, which means we are all feeling the tightness around our waistlines and the very uncomfortable feeling of overeating. I, personally, have used this holiday season to overindulge in the endless amounts of sugary sweets available to me. I could not imagine not having a gym to get back to that can help melt away the self-loathing I feel for the extra five pounds my ass is currently carrying. So with that, I hope you all had a Merry Christmas. Now get back in the gym. Trust me, I know you need it as much as I do. Honesty, always the best policy.

Jen and I, along with Tony, after the "12 Days of Christmas" WOD at Altamonte CrossFit.

Jen and I, along with Tony, after the “12 Days of Christmas” WOD at Altamonte CrossFit.

Now that we have gotten that out of the way, and you have put down that cookie that you now feel guilty for even holding in your hand, let’s get started with the essentials for getting back in the groove and recommitting to your normal life of eating right and working out hard. It’s difficult for a lot of people to get re-motivated after the holidays and convince yourself to squeeze back into your gym clothes and drive out to get your butt kicked while feeling gross and overweight. Here’s how you counteract these feelings:

  1. Everyone is in your same situation right now. Guarantee you everyone else overate during the holidays, and ate just as many cookies as you did, if not more. So think of it as a time where you are all recommitting together.
  2. You are your own worst critic. Your five-pound weight gain has probably turned into a 20-pound weight gain in your head. Yes, you have eaten more than usual. No, you do not look like a beached whale. No one is going to look at you and judge you by the five pounds that may or may not be noticeable to everyone else.
  3. If you don’t go, you’ll feel worse about yourself. Pretty self explanatory. If you don’t do something about it now, think about how awful you’ll feel two weeks down the road. Get off your butt and stop being lazy. In the end, it will be much easier to work it off sooner rather than later.
  4. Think about the cookies you can eat and not feel guilty about once you do start back in the gym?? Personally, I am a cookie fiend. If there was a pool of cookies, I would be the first one swimming in it. And probably the mean fat kid that wouldn’t let anyone else join in the fun. Mine, all mine. One of the perks of working out is that you can have your cheat days every now and then and not feel guilty about it. So the sooner you get back in the gym, the sooner you can eat more cookies and feel fabulous all at the same time. I know, I am so full of wonderful knowledge.
  5. This might be the most important piece of advice of all: You are the only one who can hold yourself accountable for the decisions you make. You have to decide to get up and start moving and become the best you can. If you want to stay lazy and use “too busy” or “not ready yet” as excuses to not get back in the gym and start getting back in shape, then you, and you alone, are accountable for the consequences to those decisions. So later on, when you are completely out of shape and truly 20 pounds overweight, don’t expect pity and understanding from those around you. You are accountable. Be motivated. Working out is a self discipline and it should be a part of life. Don’t cut yourself short. Laziness is the most unattractive quality and so are excuses.

This edition of Butts N Guts has been brought to you by the letter E. E for eat right! E for enjoy every minute with your friends and family over the holidays. E for exercise and work off all that fat you accumulated over the past couple weeks. I bet you never thought you could win the “gain as much weight as possible in the shortest time period” contest. I think I won that by the way. Sorry, the gold goes to me. My prize? Bigger jeans. Yay… E for effort. If you don’t put forth your best effort, you will never achieve the results you’re looking for. Remember, you are your own worst enemy. If you don’t put forth 100%, you will never truly know what you are capable of and how much you are able to push yourself to exceed your greatest successes.

Happy Holidays from Jen and I!

Happy Holidays from Jen and I!

So with that, Happy Holidays! Enjoy the last days of 2012. And YAY! We survived the end of the world. I know you guys were scared. But don’t worry, we can keep CrossFitting on. Be thinking of your New Years resolutions. I know Jen and I have been and we can’t wait to share our 2013 resolutions with you all.

One thought on “Happy Holidays! Now Stop Eating and Get Back in the Gym!

  1. Megan says:

    Cookie monsters! I have managed to eat paleo for breakfast and lunch since being at my parents house. The homemade chex mix, cookies, and other endless desserts I thought were appropriate at 10am were not paleo… Woops! Worked out twice today though and it felt great to get moving!!

Leave a Reply

